Getting started, Images Plus problem

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.

Getting started, Images Plus problem

Postby Wildcat_Pines » Wed Nov 06, 2019 7:03 pm

Hello, Does anyone know how to load a combine.fit file from Images Plus into StarTools? I read a post from someone that had the same problem with a fit file from Nebulosity, worked around by converting to a tiff file. I tried that and it loaded. Thanks

Jon
Wildcat_Pines
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:54 am

Re: Getting started, Images Plus problem

Postby admin » Thu Nov 07, 2019 12:29 am

Hi Jon,

Would you be able to share the problematic dataset with me? I seem to remember Images Plus uses a different way of storing the different channels in the FITS files to most other applications. There may also be an option in Images Plus to store the different channels in an alternative way when exporting as FITS. However, I thought I had catered to both cases specifically for Images Plus a while ago...
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1894
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Getting started, Images Plus problem

Postby Wildcat_Pines » Thu Nov 07, 2019 12:52 pm

Hello again Ivo, sorry to bother you again so soon. I hoped that another user might reply so as not to disturb you with amateur problems. One of the choices I can make during processing are:

Image Set Process Type

DSLR (I'm using a Canon DSLR)

Bayer no WB
Bayer at Capture WB
Color at Capture WB (this is the default choice which I have always used)
Bayer Basic RAW

Do you think selecting one of these would result in an output file that would be compatible?
I attempted to attach the file to this post but it ignored it. Maybe too big? About 75mb
Thanks,
Jon
Wildcat_Pines
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:54 am

Re: Getting started, Images Plus problem

Postby admin » Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:52 am

Hi Jon,

No problem!
Most people use Google Drive OneDrive or Dropbox (share direct link, not folder).

The setting above seem to be about processing the image, not saving it. Any other settings that pertain to saving/exporting that may be useful?
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1894
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Getting started, Images Plus problem

Postby Wildcat_Pines » Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:01 pm

Ivo,
I think I may have figured this out. Output file selections include:

16 bit tiff
8 bit tiff
jpg
bmp
16 bit fit
lossless 16 bit fit (default)
32 bit float fit

I didn't have any raw images to work with so I just shot one of the landscape. I did a rudimentary conversion in Images Plus using 16 bit fit for the output file rather than the default and it loaded into StarTools.

Thanks again,

Jon
Wildcat_Pines
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:54 am

Re: Getting started, Images Plus problem

Postby admin » Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:52 pm

That's great Jon. Any trouble with the 32-bit FITS later on, do let me know.
Clear skies!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1894
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Getting started, Images Plus problem

Postby Wildcat_Pines » Tue Nov 12, 2019 4:05 am

Ivo,

This is a little off topic but I'm looking at new ways to do AP and I'm working my way backward starting with StarTools. I'm looking at Deep Sky Stacker
because you have recommended it. So what about DSLR control (I have a IR modified Canon 5D Mark II), do you have any suggestion? Preferably
something that doesn't do much more than controlling the camera?

Jon
Wildcat_Pines
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:54 am

Re: Getting started, Images Plus problem

Postby admin » Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:29 am

Hi Jon,

NINA, APT, Backyard EOS/NIKON and Nebulosity/PHD come to mind. I'm sure I'm forgetting a few though...
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1894
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Getting started, Images Plus problem

Postby happy-kat » Fri Nov 15, 2019 1:20 pm

If looking to control a Canon, then using an Android device DSLR Controller is very good I find as I don't need a laptop.
happy-kat
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:31 am

Re: Getting started, Images Plus problem

Postby Wildcat_Pines » Sun Nov 17, 2019 6:46 pm

Thanks for the tip, however, I don't use an android device.
Wildcat_Pines
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 3:54 am

Next

Return to Image Processing Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron