DARK,FLAT,OFFSET

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.

DARK,FLAT,OFFSET

Postby Carlesa25 » Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:32 pm

Hi, I am using Deep Sky Stacker for my photos and I have the doubt if I have to use Dark, Flats and Offset footage together with my LIGHTS during the stacking and then process them in StarTools.

In your documentation I think I prefer the data as virgin as possible, so I would only have to use the LIGHT jacks, without Dark, Offset, Flat, that's it, I have it right. Thank you.
Carlesa25
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:56 am

Re: DARK,FLAT,OFFSET

Postby admin » Mon Apr 10, 2017 1:46 am

Hi,

Please do use flats at the very least. If you dither properly between frames, you may be able to get away with not using darks or bias frames.

By "making the data as virgin as possible", we mean making the data reflect, as accurately as possible, actual photon counts from the object of interest, in a uniform way. (uniform in this case meaning, "made comparable to other counts elsewhere in the image").

Any algorithms/procedures that disturb this count prior to handing the data to StarTools should be avoided when possible. Examples of such procedures are non-linear stretches, sharpening, noise reduction, as well as color balancing (not always avoidable but good if you can).

Does this help?
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1552
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: DARK,FLAT,OFFSET

Postby Carlesa25 » Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:07 am

Hi, thank you for you answer.

I understand that you recommend the use of Flats.

Darks and Bias (sorry my English is poor or Google) if you take the Light are good you can do without them. Thank you
Carlesa25
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 11:56 am


Return to Image Processing Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron