2 different exposure lengths on accident for M42...combine?

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.

2 different exposure lengths on accident for M42...combine?

Postby singding » Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:17 pm

Hi, I accidentally took a couple hundred 45 second Ha subs, and a couple hundred 60 second subs of Ha also ( in addition to oiii and sii.)

Can I just load all 4 into lrgb module ( Ha 60 seconds, sii, Ha 45 second, and oiii) respectively?

Or is it better to use layer module... Thanks!

Adam
singding
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:02 pm

Re: 2 different exposure lengths on accident for M42...combi

Postby admin » Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:35 am

Hi,

It is generally better not to mix exposure times. It leads to a number of issues (noise disparity, incorrect highlights/stars).

You could create a HDR composite of just the Ha stacks, but since you've acquired other bands as well, that's defeating the purpose a little...
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1716
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne


Return to Image Processing Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron