My first Narrowband Image

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
szymon

My first Narrowband Image

Post by szymon »

So I am still getting to grips with StarTools. I was wondering if anyone would be kind enough to try processing my data and see if they can get a better result than I did!

This is my first time ever capturing, stacking and processing a narrowband image. I know that there's more there to get and I don't particularly like the colour palette I ended up with (trying for "Hubble" but it is too green biased). The lights were taken between about 1 and 3:15am, when it started to get lighter (and I started to get sleepy), so I left the rig taking darks while I got some shuteye.

NGC6960, the Witch's Broom Nebula, also known as the Western Veil

Exposure:
Total Lights 2 hours 15 minutes
3 x 900 seconds each of Ha, Oiii, Sii
20 Flats individually for each filter
20 corresponding DarkFlats for each filter
19 x 900 seconds Darks

Hardware:
Altair Hypercam 183M
Celestron 80ED
SkyWatcher Motor Focuser
SkyWatcher HEQ5
Xagyl USB Filter Wheel
Altair 1.25" 7nm Ha Filter
Altair 1.25" 6.5nm Oiii Filter
Altair 1.25" 6.5nm Sii Filter
SkyWatcher ST80 Guide Scope
QHY5L-iic Guide Camera
Altair 0.6x Focal Reducer (for guide cam)

Software:
SharpCap
Cartes du Ciel
PHD2 Guiding
Deep Sky Stacker
StarTools

The raw stacked data is here:

Ha - https://www.dropbox.com/s/lk2mx0doy738kka/Ha.fits?dl=1
Oiii - https://www.dropbox.com/s/76e4sv69m78ln ... .fits?dl=1
Sii - https://www.dropbox.com/s/zbqva3r3turj91j/Sii.fits?dl=0

My result is:

StarTools log is:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ssyqv7od1x4e7 ... s.log?dl=1

Many thanks!

-simon
Last edited by szymon on Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
szymon

Re: My first Narrowband Image

Post by szymon »