M31

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
Misange

M31

Post by Misange »

Hi,

I am very new to astrophotography (and enthousiast !) and I tried imagining M31 yesterday. Altogether this is also my first try with startools, (highly recommended by my son).
I processed my images in different ways : either stacking in DSS + startools or stacking in sequator and image processing in lightroom. The second method shows that M31 is there and stars are quite round :lol: and if I have some noise and the image is not perfect at all, the exposure seems correct.
I stacked 80 images (nikon D5600, 300mm f6.5, 1600 iso, 15sec x80).
I followed the recommandations for stacking in DSS about colors and other parameters. When I open the fts image, it is almost completely black, EVEN AFTER autodev ! I have to use the development module and push the digital development to see a (very red!) image with a faint galaxy. After wiping, M31 is there but huge artifacts on the corners (hu, more than corners at that stage !), artifacts that I cannot find when I develop the fts image on DSS or in sequator+lightroom.
What I am doing wrong ? What would you recommend ?
To check a local problem (behind the computer...) I downloaded the beautiful m31 fts from Gaetano to test. It opens very black but M31 clearly appears immediately on a high background when hitting autodev.

Thanks for your advice
admin
Site Admin

Re: The way to M31

Post by admin »

Misange wrote:Hi,

I am very new to astrophotography (and enthousiast !) and I tried imagining M31 yesterday. Altogether this is also my first try with startools, (highly recommended by my son).
I processed my images in different ways : either stacking in DSS + startools or stacking in sequator and image processing in lightroom. The second method shows that M31 is there and stars are quite round :lol: and if I have some noise and the image is not perfect at all, the exposure seems correct.