Colour at the end of Wipe

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.

Re: Colour at the end of Wipe

Postby skygaze » Thu May 14, 2020 4:49 pm

I too have learned to spend more time at the wipe/autodev/mask/re-wipe/re-autodev/remask/re-wipe stage and it does pay off.
And like other points made above, I found better results by EXCLUDING flats, and letting ST take care of the vignetting. Living with repairing dust....
But that is not a good long term solution. Need to pay closer attention to what is happening with the bias/flats in the pre-StarTools processing.
Alister.
User avatar
skygaze
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:49 pm

Re: Colour at the end of Wipe

Postby admin » Fri May 15, 2020 2:09 am

Indeed, Wipe does its best, but flats are really essential if you want to make the most of your efforts and dig out that faint detail with confidence.
These days, the quality of sensors and electronics are such, that you can often get away with just flats combined with dithering between frames. Dithering is very important too, second only to flats.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2212
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Colour at the end of Wipe

Postby Burly » Fri May 15, 2020 4:33 pm

Try using the flats wizard in NINA works with dslr I’am currently trying out waiting to get back out .
Burly
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:06 am
Location: Northamptonshie uk

Re: Colour at the end of Wipe

Postby davidjbillo » Sat May 30, 2020 10:24 pm

So, is the takeaway for wiping the colour data, that it should be even? (I.e., ugly, but evenly ugly)
davidjbillo
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:01 pm

Re: Colour at the end of Wipe

Postby admin » Sun May 31, 2020 3:19 am

davidjbillo wrote:So, is the takeaway for wiping the colour data, that it should be even? (I.e., ugly, but evenly ugly)


Yes. :thumbsup: A good Wipe result should appear even in both cases of luminance and color (if Compose mode is on and these are processed separately, yet simultaneously).
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2212
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Previous

Return to Image Processing Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests

cron