ASTAP and Startools - Mono Imaging Help !

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
Startrek

ASTAP and Startools - Mono Imaging Help !

Post by Startrek »

Captured my first Mono data sets ( broadband and Narrowband) last week using my new 2600MM ( I’ve been using my 2600MC OSC for 3 years and thought it was time to take the plunge into Mono )
I’m having lots of issues with Deep Sky Stacker at the moment as when I register and stack say my Ha set and load into Compose , my initial AutoDev image has a tiny faint grid pattern across the whole background.
At first I thought it was my capture software APT doing something funky with assigning Bayered fits headers , but check that and the files are good , definitely mono fits

A member on our local forum suggested to try another stacking program like ASTAP.
Ive used ASTAP for just reviewing subs but not stacking
Can someone advise how to stack say a Ha set and an Oiii set and ensure they are aligned ready to load into Compose
I’ve only just fiddled around with ASTAP in the past day learning how to stack one data set like Ha
Also can you combine 2 different nights data , say Ha , as one stack or is there a better way ( DSS uses groups and reference frame to do this )
Any help would be greatly appreciated

Cheers
Martin
A frustrated Astrophotographer
Attachments
IMG_4615.jpeg
IMG_4615.jpeg (170.09 KiB) Viewed 16253 times
Mike in Rancho

Re: ASTAP and Startools - Mono Imaging Help !

Post by Mike in Rancho »

Hello there Frustrated Martin. ;)

Well, mono, and especially once you start getting fancy like LRGBHa, is where PI's WBPP really shines. But, that cost of entry, especially if you're not going to be using PI for any post processing. Both Freddy and I are doing it though. :D