Trouble getting any colour from high iso stack...

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
grant.pullen

Trouble getting any colour from high iso stack...

Post by grant.pullen »

Hi there,

I am attempting to try out StarTools, however I am unable to get any usable colour out of the attached image (DSS stack, Canon 550D, 2.5 sec x 16, 3 dark, iso 12800, fixed tripod)
Any suggestions, help or small miracles would be greatly appreciated, since I am a newb to all of this, and would love to learn the correct workflow since I can get something out using plain old ACR.
Link to stacked tif, if anyone would like to attempt to salvage something....

https://www.dropbox.com/s/pcdp2s98xjoyk0m/st2ad.TIF

Many thanks

Grant
admin
Site Admin

Re: Trouble getting any colour from high iso stack...

Post by admin »

grant.pullen wrote:Hi there,

I am attempting to try out StarTools, however I am unable to get any usable colour out of the attached image (DSS stack, Canon 550D, 2.5 sec x 16, 3 dark, iso 12800, fixed tripod)
Any suggestions, help or small miracles would be greatly appreciated, since I am a newb to all of this, and would love to learn the correct workflow since I can get something out using plain old ACR.
Link to stacked tif, if anyone would like to attempt to salvage something....

https://www.dropbox.com/s/pcdp2s98xjoyk0m/st2ad.TIF

Many thanks

Grant
Hi Grant,

To achieve good (natural) color, first remove any gradients and light pollution using the Wipe module. Then, when you're done stretching, sharpening, etc., and right before your switch Tracking off, do a final color calibration using the Color module. Simply follow the advice in the popups, e.g. apply saturation liberally while varying the amount of stauraiton that is applied to the background. Find a good color balance that shows all star temperatures equally (from red, orange, yellow, white to blue).
st2ad_ST133.jpg