Total Noob needs help: Milky Way

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
Effix

Total Noob needs help: Milky Way

Post by Effix »

Good morning/afternoon/evening to you all, ladies and gentlemen!

As the title says, I am quite new in StarTools, and in astrophotography in general. I have just discovered StarTools last week, and I think it will become my new image processing software, to replace that old version (5+ years) of Photoshop that I am currently using to try and get the best of my pictures, though with very poor results so far.

So, As for now, I have with me a picture of the Milky Way around the Summer Triangle (at least that's how we call it in French: Vega-Altaïr-Deneb). I think the pic is quite challenging, as I made several mistakes, like shooting in JPEG (won't do it again, I promise), and, after stacking in DeepSkyStaker, saving in TIFF (won't do again either, I've been reading the forum a bit already :) ) It is made of about 10 pictures of 30 seconds each, only with a tripod (the equatorial mount is planned but not yet aquired). The night was very wet, and I had to wipe my objective after each picture to remove the mist.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1mv7e0xr4xf4h ... r.tif?dl=0

I tried to improve it with Photoshop and got a good enough result for me, but I am pretty sure it could be much much better, as it doesn't compare at all with pictures I can see here and there on the internet, which seems to have been taken in pretty much the same conditions... if at least I could remove this aweful noise...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/twr97e8z2igne ... 8.jpg?dl=0