A bit of guidance please

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
rubecula

A bit of guidance please

Post by rubecula »

I'm not very happy with this image and am wondering whether it is because of the original data quality or my lack of experience with StarTools. The image was taken with a Canon 7D at prime focus on a Celestron 8" EdgeHD with the 0.7 focal reducer. Its a DSS stack of 30x120 sec lights, 30 x 120 sec darks and 30 bias frames. No flats.

I'm hoping for some guidance on whether to concentrate on getting more data and adding flats or whether I need to concentrate more on learning StarTools. In StarTools I followed the sequence in Marco's workflow log.
I tried uploading the .tiff image but the upload failed (the file is 11MB) so I uploaded a .jpg instead.
Pinwheel Galaxy.jpg
Pinwheel Galaxy.jpg (452.29 KiB) Viewed 3909 times
Thanks,

Robin
almcl

Re: A bit of guidance please

Post by almcl »

I am a relative beginner at StarTools too, and hopefully some of the more knowledgeable posters will be along soon, but in the meantime, how are you focussing? Some of the stars look bigger than I would expect, (may be nothing to do with focus, so don't take this as criticism).
Skywatcher 190MN, ASI 2600 or astro modded Canon 700d, guided by OAG, ASI120, PHD2
ChrisLX200

Post by ChrisLX200 »

Difficult to draw any conclusions without access to the raw data but from what I can see the jpg seems to profoundly clipped to black (could be this monitor I'm using but the background looks flat black). So the faint structures are completely lost. Perhaps that was the result of an attempt to suppress background noise? The somewhat bloated appearance of the stars may be the result of poor focus, or the result of processing without using a star mask, or indeed - that's just the way an SCT displays stars. Again, difficult to say without seeing the raw data.