Loading FITS and TIFF Files

General discussion about StarTools.
Jonesdee

Loading FITS and TIFF Files

Post by Jonesdee »

Hi, I am relatively new to Astro Photography and a new, trial user of StarTools.

After trying DSS, a Pixinsight Trial and AstroPixelProcessor for stacking images I have chosen APP as my preferred stacking software. To date I have been post-processing (non-linear) in Photoshop with encouraging results, however StarTools looks like a good alternative, hence I have downloaded the trial software for evaluation.

I suspect that it is probably a failure on my part, but I am unable to get FITS or TIFF images generated by APP to open in StarTools. The FITS files appear to be opening, but eventually StarTools reports that it is not responding (after a number of minutes). TIFFs fail immediately with a 'Failed!' error message. Both file types open OK in GIMP2 and Photoshop respectively. TIFF files from APP which have been opened in Photoshop and re-saved will open OK in StarTools.

Is there a file size limit for StarTools, or possibly an issue with the APP file formats? I initially suspected that the long filenames generated by APP may have been the issue, but truncating these to a short name makes no difference.

As mentioned above I may be overlooking something obvious, my apologies if this is the case, however any advice to get me up and running would be appreciated.

Thanks and regards

Dave
admin
Site Admin

Re: Loading FITS and TIFF Files

Post by admin »

One occasion when FITS files may take longer to load, is when a file contains large swathes of "NaN" pixel entries or entries that lie beyond what is specified as the maximum and minimum values for the dataset. These entries signify a lack of recorded information at those pixel coordinates.