Hardware & software for processing?

General discussion about StarTools.

Hardware & software for processing?

Postby Kendahl » Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:13 pm

My nine year old laptop (32 bit Vista and 310 GB hard drive) is good enough for image acquisition but not for processing with modern software like StarTools. Because it takes up less space, I prefer a laptop even though a desktop would be cheaper and its processor would have more cores. Would something with these minimum specifications be adequate?

    17 inch screen with 1920 x 1080 resolution
    i7 processor
    16 GB RAM
    1 TB hard drive
    256 GB solid state drive

What would be a good choice for preprocessing software to apply darks, flats and dark flats to my lights, debayer and stack them? I have been using Nebulosity 3 which uses only two user selected stars for alignment. Deep Sky Stacker has been around for a long time. Astro Pixel Processor has received favorable comments. A program called Siril has also been mentioned.
Kendahl
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 5:20 am

Re: Hardware & software for processing?

Postby Burly » Tue Jan 16, 2018 7:15 pm

Kendahl wrote:My nine year old laptop (32 bit Vista and 310 GB hard drive) is good enough for image acquisition but not for processing with modern software like StarTools. Because it takes up less space, I prefer a laptop even though a desktop would be cheaper and its processor would have more cores. Would something with these minimum specifications be adequate?

    17 inch screen with 1920 x 1080 resolution
    i7 processor
    16 GB RAM
    1 TB hard drive
    256 GB solid state drive

What would be a good choice for preprocessing software to apply darks, flats and dark flats to my lights, debayer and stack them? I have been using Nebulosity 3 which uses only two user selected stars for alignment. Deep Sky Stacker has been around for a long time. Astro Pixel Processor has received favorable comments. A program called Siril has also been mentioned.

Thats more than adequate the i7 will crunch through data like there`s no tomorrow ,make sure o/s is on the SSD ,just use 1TB for archiving everything ,it will boot up in like 4 seconds
Burly
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:06 am
Location: Northamptonshie uk


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests