stacking with normalisation

General discussion about StarTools.

stacking with normalisation

Postby alacant » Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:27 pm

Hi everyone
Should I use normalisation when stacking light frames? I use Siril and have the option to use normalisation but am unsure if this would upset StarTools' appetite for Linear, more linear and nothing but linear approach.
TIA and clear skies,
Steve
alacant
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:03 am

Re: stacking with normalisation

Postby admin » Thu Feb 21, 2019 12:40 am

Hi,

You may be interested in this thread. It explains some of the considerations around normalisation.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: stacking with normalisation

Postby alacant » Fri Feb 22, 2019 7:18 am

Thanks Ivo
OK, so I think it's a 'no' to normalisation. Yes?
Cheers
alacant
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:03 am

Re: stacking with normalisation

Postby admin » Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:31 am

:) Generally, 'no', but please bear in mind it may be needed under some circumstances for your stacker to work correctly.
If you are unsure, try processing your stack with and without normalisation and see if the normalised stack produces significantly better end-results during post-processing in StarTools.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron