Startools won't let me save.

General discussion about StarTools.

Startools won't let me save.

Postby John Pungello » Wed Feb 19, 2020 2:26 am

I am using DSS to stack my frames and saving the output image as a 16 bit tiff file. StarTools wont let me save any of my images. The save dialog box only has "All Files" as an option to save, then gives me a message that Startools only saves 16 bit tiff or 8 bit jpeg or png files. I just upgraded and have an active license. Am I doing something wrong?

Here's a screenshot of the final message. Please notice that the image is a tiff file.
Attachments
Screenshot (1).jpg
Screenshot (1).jpg (465.83 KiB) Viewed 876 times
John Pungello
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:10 am

Re: Startools won't let me save.

Postby admin » Wed Feb 19, 2020 7:34 am

Hi John,

That's strange... Can you try changing the .TIF extension to .tiff (lower case) in the file save dialog?
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2203
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Startools won't let me save.

Postby John Pungello » Wed Feb 19, 2020 7:24 pm

Hey Ivo.

Sorry for the bother. I figured out what I was doing wrong. In the newer versions of StarTools you need to manually put the .tiff extension on the file name. In the older 1.3 version that I have been using for the last 2 years it will ask you if you want to save the file as .tiff. so I would just click yes. The image will save as long as I add .tiff to the file name.

Thanks for being so responsive and for making an excellent program even better with the new revisions. I am currently reprocessing older data and I think I am getting better quality Images then before. :D
John Pungello
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:10 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron