DSS settings for 60Da use in StarTools - help please!

General discussion about StarTools.

DSS settings for 60Da use in StarTools - help please!

Postby skygaze » Mon Mar 30, 2020 6:03 pm

Sadly I have to admit defeat after several hours across a couple of days/evenings. I have followed the instructions here: https://www.startools.org/links--tutorials/starting-with-a-good-dataset/deep-sky-stacker-settings but nothing useable comes out. This morning I tried running DSS 4.2.4-beta3 and ST 1.6 and still no success. I realize that it is a challenge for ST to keep up with the changes in someone else's software.

In ST I have of course tried both the recommended "Linear, from OSC/DSLR with Bayer matrix and not white balanced" as well as "Linear" (which worked well with now forgotten DSS settings before I learned there was a "proper" way).

In DSS, I have the "No White Balance Processing" checked in the RAW/FIST along with Bilinear Interpolation. And tried both "set black point to 0" checked and unchecked. Under stacking, I have "No background Calibration" . This gives me:
DSS_STsettingsresult.jpg
DSS_STsettingsresult.jpg (22.57 KiB) Viewed 1480 times
.
After binning and cropping, I use AutoDev which produces a grayscale with compose turned green, and after a wipe and clicking colour I can't find any settings with the variations on RGB:RBG etc that gives me anything reasonable. If I instead use set black point to zero, autodev is mostly black with only a few stars visible.

Recommendations would be most welcome! Thanks.
User avatar
skygaze
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:49 pm

Re: DSS settings for 60Da use in StarTools - help please!

Postby skygaze » Mon Mar 30, 2020 7:03 pm

Out of (stubborn) curiosity I went through permutations and combinations to return to something workable, I found the following:
ONLY "the Set black point to 0" checked, while NEITHER boxes under white balance checked.
AND in ST I load with the "Linear" option, NOT the "Linear, from OSC/DSLR..." button.
DSS_STsettings_workg.jpg
DSS_STsettings_workg.jpg (134.11 KiB) Viewed 1478 times

My sky comes out strongly orangy-red, but wipe works and colour gets rid of it.
Time will undoubtedly have the developers change something so that this will no longer work. Until then... and with a heavy snowfall warning in place, spring jumped straight to winter, and there was much rejoicing,
User avatar
skygaze
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:49 pm

Re: DSS settings for 60Da use in StarTools - help please!

Postby admin » Tue Mar 31, 2020 2:35 am

Hmmm... That's a worry.
If you'd like to share the troublesome dataset(s) it would be much appreciated.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2203
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: DSS settings for 60Da use in StarTools - help please!

Postby skygaze » Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:15 am

Thanks for having a look.
Here's a drive link: https://drive.google.com/open?id=17nKdp ... rcMrXwbK42
There are 5 lights, and the "predigested" dark,flat,bias. If you need a handful of the latter in Canon 60Da CR2 form, let me know and I will add them.
Much appreciated,
Alister.
User avatar
skygaze
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:49 pm

Re: DSS settings for 60Da use in StarTools - help please!

Postby Burly » Wed Apr 01, 2020 5:57 am

You could try stacking in Siril which I found really good, simple to use if you use the scripts option , just create a folder and name it , then a subsequent folder for each data set and name individually flats ,darks, biases , lights ,then for working directory use the main folder path that contains your folders with data now choose corresponding script , Siril website can tell you what each script does and requirements it really is that simple using the scripts.
Burly
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:06 am
Location: Northamptonshie uk

Re: DSS settings for 60Da use in StarTools - help please!

Postby skygaze » Thu Apr 02, 2020 7:14 pm

Thanks for the recommendation of SIril.
Clear skies!
User avatar
skygaze
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:49 pm

Re: DSS settings for 60Da use in StarTools - help please!

Postby skygaze » Sun Apr 05, 2020 6:44 am

Good timing mentioning Siril.... my latest shots from Thursday night were done at ISO 800 as recommended, and DSS could not find any stars. Siril managed and built me something I could ingest into StarTools. Doubt the settings in Siril are as "pure" as preferred, but ya gotta walk before ya run. So under heavy First Quarter moonlight some 40 degrees away, here is what StarTools gave me using a small ROI around the T2 PanSTARRS and gamma of about 0.45 to push the noise into darkness. The background is a little mottled, but better than technicolour mush! Comet right of upper center and IC 342 left of lower center.
Alister.
P.S. I guess this thread can be considered closed until software changes.
20200403_T2_SirilScript_ST1_1080.jpg
20200403_T2_SirilScript_ST1_1080.jpg (380.1 KiB) Viewed 1366 times
User avatar
skygaze
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:49 pm

Re: DSS settings for 60Da use in StarTools - help please!

Postby happy-kat » Tue Apr 07, 2020 10:38 am

Just to share if anyone else downloads the data it is not the comet data shown in the image above.
Your flat file is a different ISO to the lights.
happy-kat
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:31 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron