Hello everyone

General discussion about StarTools.
marty1776

Hello everyone

Post by marty1776 »

Hello, I am very new to astrophotograohy and wanted to ask a couple question I haven't been able to find the answers to.
I am recording files in a raw format on my dslr. They run in the 25mb range. Is it normal for a 16bit tif to be a lot larger? It was tough to use in star tools due to size after stacking. I started using dng files and they worked much better. Is one better than the other?
Is it normal for a stacked fit to be a couple hundred mb?
I have a couple piggyback wide angle Milky Way photos, I can't get much improvement from star tools. I've watched several videos on you tube but wondered if there's a basic technique to use for those.

Thank you for any help you can give. I'm new to photography but not really to astronomy, this astrophotograohy is kinda intimidating.

Thank you
Amaranthus

Re: Hello everyone

Post by Amaranthus »

Hi Marty, For file size, it depends on the megapixel count. The stacked file size should not be much bigger than any individual RAW, unless you've used Drizzle-based stacking. If the file is too large, it may be oversampled, in which case you can use Binning to reduce the size (and noise, if done within ST). Yes, it is a steep learning curve -- just take it slowly and it'll make the climb easier. Show us what you've achieved so far!
Long-time visual observer, now learning the AP dark arts...
Cheman

Post by Cheman »

Welcome Marty.

I use a OSC 8megapixel ccd camera (QHY8) My .fit files out of the camera are 11 mb. After stacking in DSS the resulting ..fit file size is about 70mb. So with your dslr, those file sizes seem reasonable. Binning in ST is your friend!!! If you want to, put your stacked file in dropbox or any file share utility, and post the link, someone here can give it a go, and post results and workflow. You can then see if we have improved on your image, and how your workflow might be improved.