hangs on wipe

Bugs, glitches and unexpected behaviour.

Re: hangs on wipe

Postby admin » Sun Sep 30, 2018 1:36 am

Lou wrote:Hi Ivo,
I upgraded my old Desktop PC today and I run a quick test - Laptop vs. Desktop PC.
11min15sec vs. 4min 50sec for the final noise reduction step.

My Desktop PC is operating with 16GB Ram and a AMD Ryzen 5 2600, 6x 3.40GHz processor. No new graphic card.
Very happy with the improvement and no more problems with the "hangs on wipe" :D

CS
Lou

Fantastic choice! The Ryzen series CPUs are beasts! :twisted:
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: hangs on wipe

Postby happy-kat » Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:13 pm

I too am having trouble with hanging on wipe using latest bleeding edge version.
Windows 10 64bit
Wipe does work for me but as soon as I add a mask, either before selecting the wipe module or when in the wipe module on picking Do for the wipe the software hangs.
Slightly frustrating as I am trying to protest my globular cluster from being wiped.
happy-kat
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:31 am

Re: hangs on wipe

Postby admin » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:17 pm

happy-kat wrote:I too am having trouble with hanging on wipe using latest bleeding edge version.
Windows 10 64bit
Wipe does work for me but as soon as I add a mask, either before selecting the wipe module or when in the wipe module on picking Do for the wipe the software hangs.
Slightly frustrating as I am trying to protest my globular cluster from being wiped.


Hmmm... Does the same cause (and solution) apply to you?
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: hangs on wipe

Postby happy-kat » Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:23 am

Patience was the same of the game.
With a mask set walk away do something else then go back and it will be done.
But
The mask was ignored and the entire image was wiped.
I could repeat this, the mask is always ignored on wipe.
The mask is still there just ignored the whole image is effectively wiped.
The same happens in version 1.3.5.289 as it does in 1.4.332

Wipe is also putting the image background way too close to the black point and effectively clipping the image when using wipe colour and brightness option.
I am going to try process again to see if the clipping is coming about from the Contrast module I used directly after wipe.
happy-kat
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:31 am

Re: hangs on wipe

Postby admin » Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:07 am

happy-kat wrote:Patience was the same of the game.
With a mask set walk away do something else then go back and it will be done.
But
The mask was ignored and the entire image was wiped.
I could repeat this, the mask is always ignored on wipe.
The mask is still there just ignored the whole image is effectively wiped.
The same happens in version 1.3.5.289 as it does in 1.4.332

Wipe is also putting the image background way too close to the black point and effectively clipping the image when using wipe colour and brightness option.
I am going to try process again to see if the clipping is coming about from the Contrast module I used directly after wipe.


Hmmmm.... I've been trying to replicate this, but to no avail. I'm wondering if there might be a misunderstanding as to what Wipe is doing with the Mask?
Masking out in Wipe does not mean the area will be unaffected in the end-result. It just means that the area is not used as input for modeling gradients.
The fewer pixels you give Wipe to work with, the harder it has to work to create a model for the complete image; the pixels you mask out still need values calculated for them to subtract. They will still be corrected; all pixels in the image will be corrected.

You should use a mask for Wipe in two cases;
  • You have dark anomalies (e.g. darker-than-real-background pixels) in your image that could confuse Wipe.
  • You have a large area of contiguous nebulosity (without background poking through) in your image which Wipe may start mistaking for a gradient at higher Aggressiveness settings; Wipe may start removing the nebulosity a little in a larger-scale context.

To see whether you even need a mask, see what Wipe produces with- and without a mask. You may find there is virtually no difference at the default Aggressiveness settings.

Does this help?
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: hangs on wipe

Postby happy-kat » Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:36 pm

Yes thank you.
Mask has different effects in different modules, I had wrongly assumed the unmasked area would be ignored both in the calculation and the application of the wipe.
happy-kat
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:31 am

Re: hangs on wipe

Postby admin » Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:24 am

happy-kat wrote:Yes thank you.
Mask has different effects in different modules, I had wrongly assumed the unmasked area would be ignored both in the calculation and the application of the wipe.

Great! If you have any trouble with Wipe, let me know (preferably separate thread).
Clear skies!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: hangs on wipe

Postby ajh499 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:13 pm

I'm having the same problem with wipe when a mask is present, it's unbelievably slow, to the point that it's useless with a mask.

I had originally thought that StarTools was just crashing, but it's not, it just takes a really long time.

I tested it today with a 5500 x 3600 TIFF file. Without a mask it takes about 10 seconds to do a wipe, with a mask it took over 20 minutes! That surely cannot be right.
It's definitely due to the size of the mask, the fewer pixels included, the longer it takes.
ajh499
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 9:23 am

Previous

Return to Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests