Histogram

Requests for new features and wish-list items.

Histogram

Postby silver » Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:22 am

A large histogram as separate screen / window would be useful. The histogram in the color module is too small.
silver
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: Histogram

Postby Rkonrad » Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:42 pm

I would agree. A histogram would be useful especially if one is continuing to process after tracking is finish. Ivo, I believe you have said that blacks cannot be clipped while tracking is on.

Cheers Richard
Rkonrad
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 2:55 am

Re: Histogram

Postby admin » Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:58 am

Hi,

What use case would you have for the histogram specifically, within StarTools?
Thanks!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1667
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Histogram

Postby Rkonrad » Wed Apr 24, 2019 12:56 am

Is it possible to clip the black point once out of tracking? I thought you mentioned it was possible (though not once tracking is on). I remember I have done so a few times in the past but can't remember the specifics.

Richard
Rkonrad
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 2:55 am

Re: Histogram

Postby admin » Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:05 am

Honestly, you'd really have to go out of your way. One way to possibly clip your blacks is using AutoDev; use an RoI and set Outside RoI Influence to 0%. You could also do something weird in the Layer module, or use some extreme parameters for Dark Anomaly Filter and Aggressiveness in Wipe or Contrast.

Even then, not all clipping is created equal. If your data is noisy, you got some dead pixels or you got dust on your sensor that your flats didn't catch, then something like Wipe will possibly clip your data in those areas; it's more important to subtract the background model and free up dynamic range for the interesting signal than to retain dynamic range to describe the anomalies or 'negative' noise spikes.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1667
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Histogram

Postby Rkonrad » Tue Apr 30, 2019 2:40 pm

Thanks Ivo,

That's very clear. I'm not sure what I did in the past to clip the blacks. It could have been a noisy image as you said. Thanks.

Richard
Rkonrad
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 2:55 am

Re: Histogram

Postby admin » Tue Apr 30, 2019 2:57 pm

Do let me know if you see something out of the ordinary, or if you can think of a situation within StarTools where a detailed histogram is needed. :thumbsup:
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1667
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne


Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests