StarTools-Windows64.exe has stopped working.

Questions and answers about problems with the software, modules or functionality.

StarTools-Windows64.exe has stopped working.

Postby MikeNeumann » Thu Apr 13, 2017 7:31 pm

I recently purchased a new laptop; Intel Core I7, with 1GB HD and 16G RAM, running Windows 10.

I’m commonly getting the error dialog "StarTools-Windows64.exe has stopped working” on this computer. I am using Startools ver.1.3.5.289, which worked flawlessly on my former computer, also an Intel Core I7 with Windows 10, but with 256M HD and 8GB RAM.

The last occurance was disasterous, as it didn’t crash until well into my processing (during the Color Module). It had previously crashed much earlier in process, at Autodev and Wipe modules.

I have downloaded and tried new ver.1.4.327. It didn’t crash, but popped an error dialog: “Could not modify tracking data. Please make sure.....MacOSX and Linux...” while saving from Decon module. I presume that the problem is that StarTools could not modify tracking data in Windows, but I can’t find location to provide read/write permissions.

Any suggestions for either version?
MikeNeumann
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:21 pm

Re: StarTools-Windows64.exe has stopped working.

Postby admin » Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:49 am

Hi Mike,

Hmmm... It indeed sounds like a permissions issue - something is preventing StarTools from writing to the hard drive.
What folder are you running StarTools from? Are the attributes for the folder read/write (and not just read-only)?
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1543
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: StarTools-Windows64.exe has stopped working.

Postby MikeNeumann » Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:36 pm

Thank you for responding, Ivo.

Both versions of StarTools are installed on my data drive. I have verified that I can write to the directories and subdiretories for both versions of Startools. Windows 10 has a known bug whereby even after setting the read/write permissions, the properties dialog still (falsely) indicates that the directory is read-only. That being the case, I verified that I can write to each folder by creating and deleting a text file in each.

The most significant difference between the two computers is that my new one has Webroot SecureAnywhere installed. I disabled that and was able to complete a run through StarTools without error. I'm not yet certain whether Webroot is the problem, but will work on this to verify. I propose that you not spend any more time on this issue until I conduct further testing. I will let you know the results of my tests.

Does StarTools write to any location other than the program folders?
MikeNeumann
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:21 pm

Re: StarTools-Windows64.exe has stopped working.

Postby admin » Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:37 am

MikeNeumann wrote:Thank you for responding, Ivo.

Both versions of StarTools are installed on my data drive. I have verified that I can write to the directories and subdiretories for both versions of Startools. Windows 10 has a known bug whereby even after setting the read/write permissions, the properties dialog still (falsely) indicates that the directory is read-only. That being the case, I verified that I can write to each folder by creating and deleting a text file in each.

The most significant difference between the two computers is that my new one has Webroot SecureAnywhere installed. I disabled that and was able to complete a run through StarTools without error. I'm not yet certain whether Webroot is the problem, but will work on this to verify. I propose that you not spend any more time on this issue until I conduct further testing. I will let you know the results of my tests.

Does StarTools write to any location other than the program folders?


Thank you for letting me know about Webroot. On Windows, StarTools should not write to anywhere else but the executable's location (on Linux/macOS it writes to the /tmp/ folder). Specifically, it writes to the .trk files and the StarTools.log file.
Do let me know how you get on!

Thanks again,
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1543
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne


Return to Software Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron