OSX startup issue

Questions and answers about problems with the software, modules or functionality.

OSX startup issue

Postby szymon » Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:14 pm

Typically on a Mac one would copy the .app file to the /Applications directory and then open it from there, however this doesn't seem to work with StarTools. The only way that I can get it working on the Mac is to have the whole 'distro' directory somewhere and execute from the command line with:

Code: Select all
./StarTools.app/Contents/MacOS/StarTools


Any other combination ends up with an error about not finding its resources files:

Code: Select all
szymon:Applications szymon$ /Applications/StarTools.app/Contents/MacOS/StarTools
2019-07-08 13:04:15.391 StarTools[3044:320089] /Applications/StarTools.app/..//
2019-07-08 13:04:15.392 StarTools[3044:320089] The application could not start because it could not find the 'resources' file, or the 'resources' file is write protected. Please make sure it is available in the same folder as the application executable and that it the folder and the 'resources' file has read/write permissions set.
szymon:Applications szymon$


Am I doing something wrong? Is there a way of making it start up like a "normal" app?
szymon
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 11:33 am
Location: London

Re: OSX startup issue

Postby szymon » Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:19 pm

Just to be clear, I've done what's mentioned in https://www.startools.org/downloads/macos-notes and I am using the latest bleeding edge build 1.4.352
szymon
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 11:33 am
Location: London

Re: OSX startup issue

Postby szymon » Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:24 pm

Oh, here's an interesting delta. If you have the whole distro directory under /Applications then it works. You can double-click on /Applications/distro/StarTools.app and the app opens and runs just fine. That seems odd for an OSX app -- it should be self-contained within its .app -- but at least it works :-)
szymon
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 11:33 am
Location: London

Re: OSX startup issue

Postby admin » Tue Jul 09, 2019 2:09 am

It seems you've figured out the macOS behaviour already. :)

The reason it works like this, is that you can now take the distro folder and put it onto a Windows or Linux machine simply by copying it over. It will just work!
The slightly longer explanation is that this platform-independent distribution saves time and money better spent on developing the application.
The even more detailed explanation is that;
  • The dedicated distro folder makes support easier and more cross-platform as well, with a single location for files (such as license and logs) that is the same for all platforms.
  • It allows for fast cross-compilation, deployment and an agile, rolling-release schedule.
  • It removes the need to rely on bloated platform-dependent installer code (which would increase download size by a multiple!), or create separate platform-dependent downloads
  • It provides independence from Apple and its commercial practices that drive up costs and effort for small-time developers.

The install base for macOS is quite small, so it's a fine balance between supporting the platform and dedicating resources to it. The current way of working ensures that macOS users do get the latest and greatest versions, along with everyone else. I do apologise for the hoops you have to jump through however - in an ideal world, the experience would be better.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1844
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: OSX startup issue

Postby szymon » Tue Jul 09, 2019 4:05 pm

Oh hey, I am fine with it — it just took me a while to work it out. I didn’t see it anywhere in a readme or instruction — might be worth documenting for dumb Mac users so that they know what to do (or they can search and find this thread ;-)
szymon
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 11:33 am
Location: London

Re: OSX startup issue

Postby gaetano » Sat Jul 13, 2019 9:58 am

Hello, this is my very first post and would like to say hi to the forum.

I am a Mac user and I definitely had to spend some time before figuring out how to launch the application. On a Mojave machine I just needed to unpack the "distro" folder in /Applications and double click on StarTools but on my other machine, running High Sierra, this doesn't work. I have to enter the package and run the executable from there.
Please, try to make it a little bit more robust and standard, I think StarTools is a nice application and deserves a good user interaction.

Thanks,
Gaetano
gaetano
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:44 pm

Re: OSX startup issue

Postby admin » Sun Jul 14, 2019 2:34 am

Thanks Gaetano and welcome to the forums!
You comments are noted. I'll see what I can do to once the next version of StarTools is out the door.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1844
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: OSX startup issue

Postby gaetano » Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:37 am

Thank you for your kind answer!
What about adding to the todo list also the support for some keyboard shortcuts?

Have a nice day
gaetano
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:44 pm

Re: OSX startup issue

Postby admin » Sun Jul 14, 2019 12:54 pm

gaetano wrote:What about adding to the todo list also the support for some keyboard shortcuts?

Coming soon! ;)
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1844
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne


Return to Software Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests