Host Multiplatform Message Startools V1.5

Questions and answers about problems with the software, modules or functionality.

Host Multiplatform Message Startools V1.5

Postby Startrek » Mon Dec 30, 2019 5:49 am

I recently set up Startools v1.5 and every time I open it I get a message box titled “Host Multiplatform Message” with the following description - Could not modify tracking data.Please make sure Startools has read/write permission for the folder you are running the application from.
Note : I still have version 1.4 available to use if I choose to go back to using that at some stage
Any ideas how to remove this message as it’s difficult to delete to start using Startools v1.5
Thanks in advance
Startrek
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:49 am

Re: Host Multiplatform Message Startools V1.5

Postby admin » Mon Dec 30, 2019 7:02 am

Hi,

It's pretty much what the message says; something is preventing StarTools from writing its tracking data to disk.
If you are running StarTools on Windows, make sure the folder you are launching StarTools from has read/write access enabled (the "Program Files" folder on more recent versions of Windows do not by default).
If this is happening on macOS or Linux, this is a bigger problem as the /tmp folder (which is used on those systems instead) should be accessible system wide for programs to use.

Does this yield any clues?
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Host Multiplatform Message Startools V1.5

Postby Startrek » Wed Jan 01, 2020 9:26 am

Ivo
Thanks for the suggestions and information
Found the issue, I had an .exe file extension on the V1.5 file name
As soon as it was removed , Version 1.5 opened without the message and I processed some old data of M42
It processed and tracked perfectly
Now to spend some time and learn the changes and additions in V 1.5
Regards
Startrek
Startrek
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:49 am

Re: Host Multiplatform Message Startools V1.5

Postby admin » Wed Jan 01, 2020 11:59 pm

Startrek wrote:Ivo
Thanks for the suggestions and information
Found the issue, I had an .exe file extension on the V1.5 file name
As soon as it was removed , Version 1.5 opened without the message and I processed some old data of M42
It processed and tracked perfectly
Now to spend some time and learn the changes and additions in V 1.5
Regards
Startrek

That's great to hear!
Be sure to check out the 1.6 beta as well; it comes with some nice new features and optimisations.
Clear skies!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne


Return to Software Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest