M45 can I minimize diffraction spikes

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
Troy Galebach

M45 can I minimize diffraction spikes

Post by Troy Galebach »

I have some clean M45 data from what I thought was an FSQ-106, but when I processed it, I have what I believe are diffraction spikes. Perhaps it isn't from an FSQ, or perhaps I should not have used AutoDev, should I try and use Dev instead? I'm happy with the image color, but I'd appreciate any ideas on how I might minimize the spikes in this image. I'm new to LRGB processing, and wonder if I'm somehow responsible for these spikes. Any help will be greatly appreciated. If you want to see the image please follow the link, and scroll down to the last image. Thanks!

https://tgalebachmo.net/astronomy/

Regards,
Troy
admin
Site Admin

Re: M45 can I minimize diffraction spikes

Post by admin »

Hi Troy,

Diffraction spikes are usually considred a fact of life, however you can try to heal them out.
Would you be able to post a screenshot/example of the issue you are seeing?

Clear skies!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
Troy Galebach

Post by Troy Galebach »

admin wrote:Hi Troy,

Diffraction spikes are usually considred a fact of life, however you can try to heal them out.
Would you be able to post a screenshot/example of the issue you are seeing?

Clear skies!
Hi Ivo, I hope all is well with you.
I'd love to post a shot, but the link I left in my message is the only way I know how to post a pic. Did I miss something which would allow me to post on this site?
In case you missed it, here is the link to the image. You have to scroll down to the very last image, it is the one I'm asking about (M45).

https://tgalebachmo.net/astronomy/

Regards,
Troy
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »