Trying to wipe M31

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
mgutierrez

Trying to wipe M31

Post by mgutierrez »

Hi all!

This is my first post in this forum! Thanks for this fantastic software and supporting this forum!
I'm a newbie in Startools and astrophotography in general. I've downloaded the last alpha version (I usually use alpha rather than stable) and I'm quite confused how wipe module works.
My fits file (stacked with dss) is https://www.dropbox.com/s/9bgp3p2f9zo68 ... S.fts?dl=0
Once autodeveloped and automatically wiped, I get:
Selection_004.jpg
Selection_004.jpg (186.64 KiB) Viewed 3560 times
I want to finetune wiping. In particular, this zone delimited by the mask, on the bottom left corner:
Selection_005.jpg
Selection_005.jpg (178.68 KiB) Viewed 3560 times
But after wiping with the mask active, I get:
Selection_006.jpg
Selection_006.jpg (214.98 KiB) Viewed 3560 times
I thought that the only zone affected would be that delimited by the mask. What am I missing? How could wipe only that zone? How could you improve in general the wipe of this image?

Thanks in advance!
happy-kat

Re: Trying to wipe M31

Post by happy-kat »

try masking the galaxy plus any dust bunnies etc. then wipe
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Using a mask in Wipe does not mean it will get selectively processed (selective processing is something that is best avoided in general in AP).
Using a mask in Wipe tells Wipe where it may sample the image and where it may not;

StarTools' Wipe algorithm works exactly the other way around from other software (PI/Siril/APP).

In StarTools - if at all needed! - you can help Wipe by showing where you are absolutely sure there is no background. To do so you create a mask that includes everything (e.g. made "green"), except for the areas that you are certain there is no background for Wipe to sample.