Compose module using duochannel data

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
U308041

Compose module using duochannel data

Post by U308041 »

I saw some info on loading duo channel data from my Optolong L enhance filtered data into compose module to process them as HOO composite.. The first step was to load your dataset as RED and save as Ha. The step I don't understand is " Load the same dataset as green and blue. Set Luminance, Color mode to L +Synthetic L from RGB Mono. I load the blue and green one at a time . Keep and save this as your O-iii/Hb data." keep Then I have two choices, Linear and non linear and not sure what is correct at this point considering what I have just done. Also am I backing out of Star tools and restarting the program with compose and importing my data I just saved as Ha to red and the OiiiHb as green and blue. ? It is rather confusing . I am rather new at this and appreciate any help.
happy-kat

Re: Compose module using duochannel data

Post by happy-kat »

You don't need to close startolls between each Compose use.
The data is still linear you just split the channels and saved.
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

If you're using 1.7, there are now composite modes available specifically for duo/tri/quad-band filters like yours.

Load your dataset a red, again as green, again as blue. StarTools will extract the channels automatically.
Then set "Luminance, Color" to "L + Synth L From R(2xG)B, R(GB)(GB) (Bi-Color from OSC/DSLR)".
It's a long description, but it does what it say on the tin; your luminance will be created by adding R, 2xG and B together, while your coloring will be red, green+blue and green+blue for red, green, blue respectively. This the the standard/popular HOO palette. You can remap it in the color module to something else your liking of course.

Hope this helps!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
firebrand18

Post by firebrand18 »