Canon Sensor Banding Removal

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
thewormofautumn

Canon Sensor Banding Removal

Post by thewormofautumn »

Hi all

Just purchased StarTools and as a total newbie to this hobby, I love how much easier (even if I don’t entirely understand it!) it is compared to Photoshop.

I’m processing an image taken last night of Orion, and can’t seem to get rid of the sensor banding from my Canon 5D IV.

I’ve followed the excellent official video here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDY3ov2dQe4
But this is what I’m seeing when I create the mask.

First, the autodev:
Second the Wipe preview (Dark Anomaly Filter at 4). Looks even worse!
So I cancelled it, and cropped away the edges, and added a mask
And then did the Wipe again:
I'm not seeing anything remotely looking like a good image here at this stage

The bands are still there, but when I watch the video above, they vanished. Just trying to figure out how (if possible) to get rid of these. I’ve edited the file through to conclusion, and can get some good results, but those bands remain.

The TIF is from a 109 x 2min subs, ISO1600 with darks (46), flats (30) and bias (29) all included

Help appreciated!

edit: apologies, didn't screencapture the mask
Burly

Re: Canon Sensor Banding Removal

Post by Burly »

Maybe you could post file your trying to process using dropbox so others can have a better look .

regards dave
thewormofautumn

admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Hi,

I just had a quick peek at the dataset.

Can you tell us how was this stacked? Are you 100% sure this dataset has not been stretched before?

The flats appear to cause some anomalies in the corners and different channels; something is very wrong here.

Normally, the Synthetic Dark/Bias feature in the revamped Wipe module would be able to take care of the banding quite well.