Which is worse, my data or my processing?

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
Skipper71

Which is worse, my data or my processing?

Post by Skipper71 »

The easy answer is both and I'm in no position to disagree, but some advice from someone who has actually done this for more than a month would be appreciated.

I'm VERY new to this and attached is the total of what I have produced as an astrophotographer. I'm using Astro Pixel Processor and StarTools for post processing.
M45-NoSt4.jpg
M45-NoSt4.jpg (285.22 KiB) Viewed 3424 times

1. It's very exciting. 2. I know it needs vast improvement 3. I don't know what to do/how to improve it. I SEEMS to me I had to stretch it a lot to get the color out of it. It SEEMS to me I have a lot of noise in it, the "smudges" in the background are especially unappealing. I would be very grateful for a critique and some advice on what to target as priorities for improvement, be they in acquisition or processing.

Askar FMA180, ASI533MC Pro, 100 gain. Baader UV/IR -Cut/L. (I know this setup is significantly undersampled. Would using drizzle in APP be a good idea? If so, ... double resolution then bring it back down with binning in StarTools? I'm not sure at all about choices to be made if using drizzle.)

166x 60s (dithered) lights. Processed top 151 in APP using darks, flats, dark flats and BPM. I followed all StarTools guidance for APP.

Link to fits here: https://1drv.ms/u/s!AnPGv8pl3Icnow0mPuM ... R?e=6eeodd

StarTools workflow -
Loaded as Linear, from OSC/DSLR...
AutoDev
Bin at 50%
Crop
Wipe: Gradient Aggressiveness to 85%, Vignette
Film Develop (because autodev doesn't give me enough color) to 97%, Gamma to 1.20.

Question: Do I simply not have enough data in my stack?

Contrast - default
HDR - Reveal Core
Sharp - auto generate mask, default
Color - Saturation amount 500%, Dark Saturation 1.0, RGB Bias reductions at 1.39, 1.79, 1.10 respectively.