M101 - difficulty processing

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
el_hop87

M101 - difficulty processing

Post by el_hop87 »

Hi everyone,

I am new to StarTools and still have a lot to learn - at the moment I am having difficulty processing the M101, Pinwheel Galaxy, and unsure if it is the image itself or my processing skills that are the problem! I go through the process but the image itself looks heavy with gradient and the colours are not working out either.

To take the image I used the AZ GTI, Nikon D5200, SW Evostar 72ED, IDAS P2 filter. Each exposure was 20 seconds, 1 hr 52 mins total exposure time, 20 darks and 20 flats. I stacked the image in DSS and turned into FITs image in Siril prior.

I have attached a JPEG file of the image
M101.jpg
M101.jpg (271.95 KiB) Viewed 3338 times
and would hugely appreciate any guidance on what I am doing wrong.

Many thanks,

Elly
Carles

Re: M101 - difficulty processing

Post by Carles »

Hello Elly, and welcome to StarTools!

Is that Jpeg the file processed already ? If so, first of all, you need to crop before doing much. Also it seems there's vigneting.. did you use Flat frames?
I've AutoDev your file and got this
M101- cropp.png
M101- cropp.png (62.83 KiB) Viewed 3336 times
Can't do much with it. I think first you should get your calibration frames (Flats, darks and bias/offsets OR dark flats).
Also check the recommended settings for DSS, including disabling any sort of White Balance.

in the Download section you have the Unofficial manual full of information, tips and tutorials. There's the section to prepare your files depending on the software you are using. Or in the main website "links and tutorials" you have similar info too ;)

Try setting DSS as per manual /tutorials and stack again and see how it goes ^^

Regards

Carles
el_hop87

Post by el_hop87 »

Hi