Newbie, wipe results ?

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
padraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:34 pm

Newbie, wipe results ?

Post by padraig »

Hi all,

I'm totally new to this, and could do with some help.
After stacking in DSS as per Startools , darks , flats, bias and 30 lights of M31.
I open in in Startools, bin, crop, auto dev with default settings,
next I do Wipe at default settings and press keep, the resulting image turns dark besides the very core of m31 been visible ?
Probably something really simple that's not evident to me.
Any help would be great

thanks
Padraig



see attachments...
Attachments
third ....result ?
third ....result ?
after pressing keep result..jpg (144.36 KiB) Viewed 237 times
second
second
wipe after.jpg (330.94 KiB) Viewed 237 times
first
first
bin,crop and autodev.jpg (367.8 KiB) Viewed 237 times
Burly
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:06 am
Location: Northamptonshie uk

Re: Newbie, wipe results ?

Post by Burly »

You are doing everything right now you just redo auto dev ,choose global stretch , so Auto dev ,bin if needed ,crop ,wipe Auto Dev ,you can use ROI to get an image to your liking ,have a play , then on to contrast then work through the modules left to right ,also have a look at the unoffical tutorial
https://www.startools.org/links--tutorials.

regards Dave
padraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:34 pm

Re: Newbie, wipe results ?

Post by padraig »

ok, found I had to do another AutoDev ,
Trying to use colour module , white balance and masks ? what ever that is ?
Away here is where I'm at .....
getting there.JPG
getting there.JPG (395.02 KiB) Viewed 224 times
Burly
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:06 am
Location: Northamptonshie uk

Re: Newbie, wipe results ?

Post by Burly »

Maybe we can help if you post a link to Fits file i see if i can record a video processing file for you , So colour module > Mask >auto stars do >shrink x1 then grow 2x >Keep ,colour module screen will flash 3 times now press Sample button ,back to mask ,press clear ,press invert >keep back to colour module screen flashes 3x ,balance is done to whole image ,now press rgb button top right of screen this will show dominant pixels if too much green then just adjust the green channel to suit .
padraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:34 pm

Re: Newbie, wipe results ?

Post by padraig »

Thanks , uploading to google drive now ( a bit slow )
then again I never used it before :)
padraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:34 pm

Re: Newbie, wipe results ?

Post by padraig »

Capture m31.JPG
Capture m31.JPG (313.17 KiB) Viewed 216 times
padraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:34 pm

Re: Newbie, wipe results ?

Post by padraig »

this is a first for me , hopefully it works,

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pKDw38 ... sp=sharing
Burly
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:06 am
Location: Northamptonshie uk

Re: Newbie, wipe results ?

Post by Burly »

Rough process gives you an idea ,fixed stars using repair this was using 1.7 GPU version image resized for upload ,
https://youtu.be/cW2NuwXKsYk
Attachments
M31_50.jpg
M31_50.jpg (219.21 KiB) Viewed 208 times
padraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:34 pm

Re: Newbie, wipe results ?

Post by padraig »

Now that's more like :)

great stuff, I'll give that a go
thanks for taking the time , much appreciated.

best regards
padraig.

n.b.
if get any way close to yours I'll post it up
padraig
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:34 pm

Re: Newbie, wipe results ?

Post by padraig »

Just watched video, there's a lot of information to digest and learn from. Startools is really powerful and I'd say with some practice is much more straight forward and quicker.

Again, thanks for your help.
I'm sure I'll have a few more questions

Padraig
Post Reply