M3 Blown out core

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
fmeireso
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:46 pm

M3 Blown out core

Post by fmeireso »

How can i avoid blowing out the core of M3.

Seems that the stack is good and no saturation, still i don't manage to get M3 center good
Attachments
M3P2 (Large).jpg
M3P2 (Large).jpg (292.44 KiB) Viewed 207 times
Stefan B
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 8:59 pm

Re: M3 Blown out core

Post by Stefan B »

Did you try the 'reveal all' or the 'reveal DSO core' presets in the HDR module?
fmeireso
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:46 pm

Re: M3 Blown out core

Post by fmeireso »

Hmm...i did the opposite.

I use tame core....
Stefan B
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2020 8:59 pm

Re: M3 Blown out core

Post by Stefan B »

The documentation says
Reveal - reveals latent structural detail in the highlights
So maybe it's worth a try, since you want detail in the highlights.
fmeireso
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:46 pm

Re: M3 Blown out core

Post by fmeireso »

Did 'nt work out .....
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2683
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: M3 Blown out core

Post by admin »

Hmmm.... Would you be able to share the dataset?
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
fmeireso
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:46 pm

Re: M3 Blown out core

Post by fmeireso »

Sure Ivo, here it is

https://www.dropbox.com/s/95eja5erzimsz ... e.fts?dl=0

I think i don't do the stretch right...

it is 1 hr and 40 min integration, Canon 800D at 400 iso , 1 minute subs

F:714 mm D:102 mm
Guided, dithered. Stacked in DSS

You will see a satelitte trail, but i can deal with that

Thanks for helping

Freddy
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2683
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: M3 Blown out core

Post by admin »

Thank you for sharing that dataset.
I just did an AutoDev (with an RoI over the cluster), like so;
StarTools_550.jpg
StarTools_550.jpg (195.74 KiB) Viewed 155 times
The Reveal Core preset in the HDR module was made for this sort of thing;
StarTools_551.jpg
StarTools_551.jpg (195.22 KiB) Viewed 155 times
You can easily reduce the Detail Size Rangein an image like this, to better resolve the individual stars.
StarTools_552.jpg
StarTools_552.jpg (195.9 KiB) Viewed 155 times
Finishing off with some deconvolution (you can push it to taste);
StarTools_553.jpg
StarTools_553.jpg (217.48 KiB) Viewed 155 times
Is this roughly what you were after?
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
fmeireso
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:46 pm

Re: M3 Blown out core

Post by fmeireso »

Darn,

Thanks Ivo,

I did the stretching like that, why did it not come out like that.

But i did tame core, so that was totally wrong, allthough i did try reveal core,

It is Always processing...i am just better in taking the picture then processing it...so it seems.

Ok so some more excercise. It is the first time i tried to process a globular, from my stack

Thanks for your help

Freddy
fmeireso
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2020 8:46 pm

Re: M3 Blown out core

Post by fmeireso »

Got it,

Gosh the real important thing here was the :

HDR module - reveal core but expecially the detail size range that does the thrick..

I must write this down, for future globular processing...

i guess actually one has to build up procedures also in processing , depending on the object...

Boy, this object feels like a start over....for my processing skills in ST ...
Post Reply