Editing a blend of multiple exposures

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
thewormofautumn

Editing a blend of multiple exposures

Post by thewormofautumn »

Hi all

Quick one, hopefully.

What causes artefacts like this?
This is an amalgam of two sessions on Vela stacked in DSS

The first was done with 300 second subs with the L-Extreme
The second was done with 360 second subs no filter (with and without moonlight)

I took the second to get some star colour and I'm happy I can see star colour, but wondering what the big circle is. Is this just sub exposure difference? if so, any way to normalise the two?
I'm not very good with the Wipe tool btw, so maybe there's something I'm missing at that step.

Link to the saved FITS file if anyone wants to see it:

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ak9Pmua24KTPk4x7skM ... Q?e=P3FsBl

admin
Site Admin

Re: Editing a blend of multiple exposures

Post by admin »

Eek! :shock:

That looks like a flats issue to me. Try stacking without your flats and see if the problem goes away.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
Burly

Post by Burly »

Just a note on that issue I’ve been having issues with flats a bit like yours but inverted to yours so clear in the middle of image cloudy on the outside , finally last night I seem to have cracked the issue , I dither so take flats and bias and use bias as darks, but after experimenting what fixed it was using Astap to stack ,load bias in dark flats tab and load flats in flats tab , then analyse , Astap will create a master flat from both files , now load lights and put bias in darks tab (may work with darks in darks tab I don’t usually take darks as I dither) now analyse lights and darks then stack , doing this finally left me with an image once auto dev and wiped looked like it should I need to let Ivo look at the final stacked image but I’m 99% there in solving my issue with flats I hope .

Dave .
thewormofautumn