Crazy idea or not HOO approaches Soul neb

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
fmeireso

Crazy idea or not HOO approaches Soul neb

Post by fmeireso »

Result2 (Large).jpg
Result2 (Large).jpg (316.86 KiB) Viewed 3829 times
Lately i took shots from the Soul nebulae. I took a probably uncommon approach.

I took about just over 3 hours shots with an monochrome DSLR and a Ha filter.
And over 3 hours over OSC unmodded DSLR but with L-enhance filter

I processed using the compose module in HOO, splitting the OSC in Red and Green/blue channel and use the Ha stack asl Luminance

What came out , i find it quite satisfying, never had so much detail sofar in this kind of objects.

But is this a descent way of working? Or a less good approach and if so why. I did not get much reply in CN for that matter.
Does this approach makes sense? From what i see, it does, but ...well i am far from an expert...

I have to say, this method makes in possible in only needing about 2 sessions to get at least some data to work with. I understand you could eventually take Ha and OIII seperate with filters with the mono cam and then perhaps an OSC to get some color.

@Ivo , youre comments would be appreciated
Last edited by fmeireso on Fri Oct 15, 2021 7:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
fmeireso

Re: Crazy idea or not HOO approaches Soul neb

Post by fmeireso »

Same but in kind of fake hubble pallet look
Result3 (Large).jpg
Result3 (Large).jpg (317.62 KiB) Viewed 3828 times
Mike in Rancho

Post by Mike in Rancho »

Interesting, Freddy!

I'm used to seeing this just as a big blob of red, but I don't get out much...

Kind of too bad the L-eNhance is held back by the unmodded camera, though maybe that might hold back some of the Ha from overwhelming everything else?

Is it bicolor? HOO and then maybe H(H+O)O on the next? It almost seems to me there's a brown color in there as well.