Help needed with Wipe module on Milky Way test data set

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
timoff

Help needed with Wipe module on Milky Way test data set

Post by timoff »

Hi guys,

I need some help with the Wipe module, because I don't understand what it is trying to tell me.

I'm a newbie, but I've been able to process my Andromeda galaxy dataset successfully in the past. So I'm feeling like an idiot, because I'm stuck in the bery beginning of the workflow.

I'm trying to process the Milky Way dataset, which I gathered to test what I can capture/process in the light-polluted area. Trying to do before investing a lot of time in gathering a decent amount of data, to check that I chosen the right settings for capture.

Hardware: Canon 5D mk4, Sigma 14mm 2.8
Capture: No mount, just a tripod, 8 seconds exposure, ISO 3200, 36 shots.
Calibration: darks, flats, bias frames, 20 shots each.
Stacking: DeepSkyStacker, StarTools recommended settings, output is Fits 32 bit integers.
Other: Some trees captured in the shots.

What I do:
1. Open: Fits from DSS as Linear, from OSC/DSLR...
2. AutoDev: default settings
3. Crop: crop out the trees (I cropped out a lot of the frame, so I suspected all possible problems are just left behind.)
2-crop.jpg
2-crop.jpg (447.26 KiB) Viewed 2438 times
4. Wipe: defaults, instead of removing the light pollution gradient, it amplifies it.
3-wipe.jpg
3-wipe.jpg (460.35 KiB) Viewed 2438 times
Any help on which direction is to look at will be greatly appreciated.
hixx

Re: Help needed with Wipe module on Milky Way test data set

Post by hixx »

Hi timoff,
This seems to be flat overcorrection rather than light pollution, if I am not mistaken.
I am not sure if your flats were done with even illumination. You should take flats using same focus and aperture as the lights
Some thing you want to try out to save thi:
1) Crop out 10-20 px at each of the the borders, not just the trees