Autodev query

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
ubertank

Autodev query

Post by ubertank »

Hi there,

Can anyone offer me any insight into why whenever I open an image in autodev it looks like this:

I'm very new to astrophotography so it would be ncie to have a more automated feature than the standard dev tool available to me, but for some reason, unless something obvious is being overlooked I can't find a way around it doing this to my image. It does the same after I crop the image down to a much more suitable size also.
admin
Site Admin

Re: Autodev query

Post by admin »

Hi,

The AutoDev feature does its best to highlight everything that is good and bad in your image. It attempts to show you everything, warts and all. This is also the reason why it's great as one of the first actions on your image.
If you manage to fix all outstanding issues in your data, AutoDev is also a very useful as a final global stretching tool - it works very well in this capacity on problem free data.
Don't worry about the appearance of your image at this stage. As opposed to in all other software, global stretches are not permanent in StarTools and you can revisit them as many times as you like.

Thank you for attaching the image - you can see how effective AutoDev is in highlighting issues in your image.
Specifically, AutoDev has highlighted stacking artifacts near the borders of your image. Now that you know where they are, you can crop these out.
AutoDev has also highlighted a bad gradient/light pollution. After cropping the artifacts, you can use the Wipe module to remove the gradient/light pollution.
Wipe will (by means of a pop-up) actually tell you to re-do your global stretch after removing the gradient/light pollution, so when you're done with Wipe go ahead and run AutoDev again.