star mask extra information

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
trobbet

star mask extra information

Post by trobbet »

OK, yes I'm very new at this... With this ST's attempt, toward the end,I wanted to work on the stars a bit. So I did a star mask, and it ended up masking scads of little specs also, (is this noise I did not get rid of?) and when I subsequently rounded my stars the little specs remained in the image.
I have processed about 5 objects so far with ST's, and this is the 1st time I have run into this bad (I'm assuming this is a really bad noise issue) of a result after doing my final denoising. I have been acquiring most of my objects from Fits files I have created after stacking in Nebulosity using only light and dark frames; no bias or flats. This image was done the same. I'm using a Canon 60Da, in this case with a C-8. All my acquisitions are done unguided. In this image I used 31 lights @ 2.5 minutes, ISO 1600 and 39 darks.
So, did I just get away with my 1st 4 images using this method, and I need to add bias and flats, or could i have pushed the denoising further? I don't think this later is the case because, as it is it appeared to me that increasing the read-noise compensation any further would have made the image worse. Or... is there some other mistake I may have made using ST's? Or, do I really have to start doing a better job in acquisition?
Any thoughts or advise will be appreciated.
CS, Tom
Attachments
M77 Star Mask.jpg
M77 Star Mask.jpg (367.55 KiB) Viewed 6535 times
admin
Site Admin

Re: star mask extra information

Post by admin »

Hi Tom,
trobbet wrote:OK, yes I'm very new at this... With this ST's attempt, toward the end,I wanted to work on the stars a bit. So I did a star mask, and it ended up masking scads of little specs also, (is this noise I did not get rid of?) and when I subsequently rounded my stars the little specs remained in the image.