Trying to learn program

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
waterbourn

Trying to learn program

Post by waterbourn »

Hello. I am new to the hobby and have my first set of data. I grabbed the pixinsight demo and tried and got so-so results I guess. Just so not user friendly. But then I heard about this program and wanted to try the demo. In both programs I have these two black spots (on on the left and one on the left). I think maybe dust? I did do flats, flat bias, and darks. I also have a streak of light artifact. Maybe some type of reflection at some point? Anyway I was wondering if I could get some guidance on how you remove areas like that in Startools. I used the wipe function but still keep bad gradients as well as the two dark spots. I watched a couple tutorials and used the lasso feature to mask the spots when doing wipe so they would not interfere. But I get less than stellar results. Here is the link to the .fts file if anyone is willing to help me out. thanks so much

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0WZUC ... sp=sharing
Alvinillo

Re: Trying to learn program

Post by Alvinillo »

If you re-save the file with a different name and in .fit 32bit unsigned integer format, Startools resulting image is less noisy, I don't know why.

OTOH, flats calibration should have taken care of dust donuts. I've previously had problem with calibration so I'd stack uncalibrated files as a reference. Any calibration you do should get a better image. Try these steps and see if your image improves step by step or if suddently something goes wrong:
- stack images
- stack images with darks
- stack images with darks and bias
- stack images with darks, bias and flats
- stack images with darks, bias,flats and dark flats

Regards
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »