Where is this fog coming from?

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
khobar95

Where is this fog coming from?

Post by khobar95 »

Hi Folks,

I'm new to StarTools.

I'm trying to process M31 I shot the other night, and ST is doing an excellent job of pulling out faint detail. Unfortunately, the effort is ruined because of some weird fogging.

I stack in DSS and save as FITS with changes embedded but not applied.

The below image is the FITS brought into ST's "AutoDev" module after a slight cropping on the right edge. I used "Linear, was Bayered, is not whitebalanced, but the result is the same regardless of how I open it.

I don't see this fog on any of the original frames, nor do I see it when I bring the image generated from DSS into Photoshop and crank the lighting/saturation. So, any idea where this is coming from?
Attachments
m31_2_blue2_web.jpg
m31_2_blue2_web.jpg (129.08 KiB) Viewed 7954 times
khobar95

Re: Where is this fog coming from?

Post by khobar95 »

This is M42 essentially handled the same way. This time, however, instead of blue I get pink.
Attachments
m42_fog_web.jpg
m42_fog_web.jpg (96.37 KiB) Viewed 7953 times
Cheman

Post by Cheman »

khobar
are these before or after running Wipe?
Che
khobar95

Post by khobar95 »

Hi Che,

Could very well be. Since I'm new to ST, I'm strongly favoring unfamiliarity/noob as the likely cause. I've been trying to reproduce the exact results I posted, but I've not quite managed to get it right. The closest I've come is bringing my FTS into the "Wipe" module and turning "Temporary AutoDev" on - that produces yellow and pink areas on the image. After I click "Keep" the intensity drops dramatically, but I can still see the distortion.

Bringing the FTS into the AutoDev module does not produce the color fogging, so I must have been mistaken yesterday.
Cheman

Post by Cheman »