DSLR Linearity

Questions and answers about processing in StarTools and how to accomplish certain tasks.
dundizzle

DSLR Linearity

Post by dundizzle »

Hey all, I'm still very new to this whole AP deal and I'm starting to play with StarTools using others' raw data for the time being while I get the last of my equipment together.

I have a quick question regarding opening files from an unmodded DSLR (Canon Rebel T3), which were stacked in DSS. Obviously the data has been Bayered coming from a DSLR, but how do I know if the data is "Linear, Bayered, Not white balanced" vs. "modified and not linear"? Are there settings on the DSLR white balance I can use to control this?

I've also heard that using DSS causes some kind of stretching or auto-balancing to the data. Are there any tips/tricks to minimize this, or avoid it all together?

Any info is much appreciated, cheers!
admin
Site Admin

Re: DSLR Linearity

Post by admin »

Hi apologies for the delay - it's a busy time of the year... :)

DSS unfortunately applies the white balance of the camera, so the data will be white balanced. As long as you don't apply any sort of modifications (stretches, sharpening, etc.) and just save the (very dark) data straight out of DSS, then your data should be linear. It's *very* important that StarTools gets its hands on the data when it is as 'virgin' as possible. Any sort of modification (which includes color balancing) will reduce StarTools' effectiveness in virtually all areas of processing, for the simple fact that correct noise propagation is difficult/impossible to Track for data that is already noisier than it needs to be.

Modified and not linear is for images that have already been processed - it's a last resort measure for StarTools to try and work with such data.

Hope this helps!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
Chunkles

Post by Chunkles »

Hi Ivo,