A couple gas giants

User images created with StarTools.
Mike in Rancho

A couple gas giants

Post by Mike in Rancho »

2022-08-17-0725_8-Saturn_lapl5_ap22_Drizzle15 25pct REG ST8 1B.jpg
2022-08-17-0725_8-Saturn_lapl5_ap22_Drizzle15 25pct REG ST8 1B.jpg (25.65 KiB) Viewed 47648 times
2022-08-17-0733_6-Jupiter_lapl5_ap41_Drizzle15 25pct REG ST8 1A.jpg
2022-08-17-0733_6-Jupiter_lapl5_ap41_Drizzle15 25pct REG ST8 1A.jpg (31.86 KiB) Viewed 47648 times

I am a rank amateur or worse with planetary, but took these shots last week using my 178MC. Which spends most of its life as the DSO guide cam.

Each resulted from 3 minutes of "video" taken through ASICAP, on the Evostar 100ED f/9 at 900mm, no Barlow (though I tried one of those too). Still very much need to work on my exposure times, fps, and gain. Not to mention imaging scale. According to one rule of thumb, these may have been slightly under(?)sampled based on the pixel size of 2.4u. Oh, I also have to figure out whether to ignore or change the default R and B scaling in the ZWO driver. :confusion-shrug:

Top 25% stacked in AS3, plus spatial RGB alignment, 1.5x drizzle. I did not channel balance. Though I am uncertain again if all of this matters the same with stacked planetary video (necessarily stretched) like it does with linear DSO.

I also have not quite yet worked out how to use Registax and ST together. The R6 wavelets and ST's deconvoluton kind of head down the same paths, but at the moment I seem to be able to get more by using R6 first, with it's 6 wavelet sliders plus individual denoise and sharpen on each one, and then process in ST, though I can only use the lightest of synth deconvolution then. I haven't yet tried it the other way around - ST first and then maybe a touch of extra in R6.