Bubble Nebula

User images created with StarTools.
MrMxyzptlk

Bubble Nebula

Post by MrMxyzptlk »

Hello to you all. I'm new to Star Tools, I'm pretty new to astrophotography as well as I only began deep sky imaging last December. The last few nights I acquired data for M52 and the Bubble Nebula, I have stacked a total of 4 hours worth of data (I had more, but I threw out the bad data), calibrated with flats, darks, dark flats and bias frames.
You can see the full result here:
http://www.astrobin.com/127890/

I decided to ask for some help, as I think that there might be more data in there or better processing options, I used mostly the M8 tutorial to work with this acquisition.
Here is the link for the raw stack, the stack is not white balanced, it has stacking artifacts on the margins, it was done with IRIS (raw decoding, calibration, cfa2pic, co-register, norm, composite)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/nqx9zgk4oj4ky ... e.fit?dl=0

I must note that my Baader BCF filter in the Canon 1100D is not aligned perfectly whit my sensor, so I have some artifacts/glare at the bright stars, I'm curious how this can be eliminated.

So if you have some time, maybe you can show me some better processing techniques. Thank you in advance
admin
Site Admin

Re: Bubble Nebula

Post by admin »

Wow... :shock:
That's an absolutely stunning debut! Looking at the astrobin image, it's very, very hard to fault for the equipment used; quite an accomplishment for someone who says he just started! :bow-yellow:
It's getting late here, but I'll definitely have a play with the data tomorrow.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
MrMxyzptlk

Post by MrMxyzptlk »

Thanks. I don't have any complains about my equipment beside the BCF filter in my Canon. My only complains are my suburban sky, with some light pollution :)
I'm looking forward to see your processing and learn. Good night :)
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »