Page 1 of 2

1.7.420 alpha with revamped Shrink module

Posted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:07 am
by admin
Hi all,

I'm looking for some feedback on a newly revamped Shrink module. It should yield much improved results vs the old one.

It is now Tracking-friendly and can be used while Tracking is on. Best time to use it is probably just before the Life module and after Decon.

Cheers!

Ivo

Re: 1.7.420 alpha with revamped Shrink module

Posted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:33 pm
by almcl
Had a quick play with some of last week's data and while I haven't completely got to grips with the new layout/functions in Shrink, first impressions are that it makes things a good bit better.

Here are two images, first was processed in 419 and shrunk using the tighten option, second was a quick process in 420 using the defaults in shrink, right after Decon. (sorry they're not quite the same crop - I find that very tricky)

Autosave shrunk.jpg
Autosave shrunk.jpg (257.18 KiB) Viewed 823 times
Autosave 420.jpg
Autosave 420.jpg (324.43 KiB) Viewed 823 times

Re: 1.7.420 alpha with revamped Shrink module

Posted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:56 pm
by almcl
One other comment about 420, if I may?

The Life module won't let me set a mask. If I try it offers the option of 'Set Full mask' or 'Generate mask manually' but when I try and manually input a mask, on exiting the mask module the 'full mask recommended' warning appears again with no way to get out except by setting a full mask.

Is this what was intended?

Re: 1.7.420 alpha with revamped Shrink module

Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 12:26 am
by admin
almcl wrote: Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:56 pm One other comment about 420, if I may?

The Life module won't let me set a mask. If I try it offers the option of 'Set Full mask' or 'Generate mask manually' but when I try and manually input a mask, on exiting the mask module the 'full mask recommended' warning appears again with no way to get out except by setting a full mask.

Is this what was intended?
Many, many thanks for the feedback! :thumbsup:

This is a bug of course :oops: and has now been fixed in 1.7.421.

Re: 1.7.420 alpha with revamped Shrink module

Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 8:42 am
by happy-kat
I had a look at the shrink stars but have been using 419 and then 420 but have reverted back to general using 417 as the other two crashed more for me though I have not been able to nail why.

Re: 1.7.420 alpha with revamped Shrink module

Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:41 am
by almcl
admin wrote: Fri Sep 04, 2020 12:26 am This is a bug of course and has now been fixed in 1.7.421.
Wow! So quick, Ivo, do you ever get any sleep?

Many thanks!

Re: 1.7.420 alpha with revamped Shrink module

Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:24 pm
by Russ.Carpenter
Hi Ivo,

I used the new Shrink module after Decon and before Life and it seemed to work fine. I have a 27 inch iMac with the most recent version of the Catalina OS.

Thanks for all you hard work!

Russ

Re: 1.7.420 alpha with revamped Shrink module

Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2020 1:30 am
by admin
almcl wrote: Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:41 am do you ever get any sleep?
Not much as of late :(
Russ.Carpenter wrote: Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:24 pm I used the new Shrink module after Decon and before Life and it seemed to work fine.
That's great to hear!

I will go ahead to further solidify this in the workflow and update documentation. Thanks all! :bow-yellow:

Re: 1.7.420 alpha with revamped Shrink module

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 5:25 am
by hixx
Hi Ivo,
the new real-time Wipe module does retrigger a new rendering each time a value is changed. However it does not seem to do this when 'keeping' a mask. Instead, it requires changing another parameter to start a new run. Shouldn't a new mask start a new rendering automatically?

regards,
jochen

Re: 1.7.420 alpha with revamped Shrink module

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:29 am
by admin
hixx wrote: Wed Sep 09, 2020 5:25 am Hi Ivo,
the new real-time Wipe module does retrigger a new rendering each time a value is changed. However it does not seem to do this when 'keeping' a mask. Instead, it requires changing another parameter to start a new run. Shouldn't a new mask start a new rendering automatically?

regards,
jochen
That is indeed a bug - I just found that too. I will fix that, thank you!