Autodev repeat setting on other datasets

General discussion about StarTools.
Post Reply
readerp
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 5:02 pm

Autodev repeat setting on other datasets

Post by readerp »

Hi,

I would like to use autodev when I process mosaic images.

Once I get a single frame of the mosaic looking like I like it with autodev,
which includes using the ROI to get the stretch just right,
how do I repeat the exact same stretch on other frames, including whatever the ROI did to the 1st frame?

Cheers
Pete
happy-kat
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:31 am

Re: Autodev repeat setting on other datasets

Post by happy-kat »

When I built a mosaic I used Film Dev as then I could set the % stretch the same across the mosaic panes. Though then I hadn't been using Autodev so much as i do now but haven't had a mosaic to build to compare using Autodev with it.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2718
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Autodev repeat setting on other datasets

Post by admin »

Hi Pete,

AutoDev's behavior is specific to the contents of your dataset, so it will behave differently, depending on the dataset.
Have you considered making the mosasic first (in e.g. in the linear domain) and then processing it as a whole in StarTools?
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
readerp
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 5:02 pm

Re: Autodev repeat setting on other datasets

Post by readerp »

Hi Ivo

Depending on the number of frames it could be rather unmanageable to build a large mosaic and then try to process it in startools.

Would probably work ok for a small mosaic of a few panels.

Thanks
Pete
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2718
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Autodev repeat setting on other datasets

Post by admin »

readerp wrote: Mon May 03, 2021 3:33 am Hi Ivo

Depending on the number of frames it could be rather unmanageable to build a large mosaic and then try to process it in startools.

Would probably work ok for a small mosaic of a few panels.

Thanks
Pete
Understood.

If the individual stacks are roughly comparable in terms of acquisition details and quality (exposure time, calibration and seeing), you may find AutoDev yielding roughly similar stretches without specifying a Region of Interest, particularly if the field of view contains a fair amount of stars - AutoDev will likely latch onto the stars for analysis.

You could do a quick test with two stacks, to see if that bears out for your particular situation and data.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
Post Reply