stacked image from dslr Monochrome modded camera

General discussion about StarTools.
NGC664

stacked image from dslr Monochrome modded camera

Post by NGC664 »

Hi, I must be bored but I acquired a few Canon 350D cameras and took the least used unit and removed the bayer Matrix from the sensor. I took a few JPGs out the front door and the image was magenta until I did a custom white balance and then viola a very crisp monochrome image. Since I will be taking raw frames and stacking them in deep sky stacker, what will Star Tools do with this image since RAW probably doesn't care about the white balance I have set. I have been using Star tools for several years with great results only using my Sony A6500 .
admin
Site Admin

Re: stacked image from dslr Monochrome modded camera

Post by admin »

If you removed the Bayer matrix, there is no notion of color any more, and any debayering will just result in "nonsensical" colors (while also throwing away signal through unnecessary interpolation).

Make sure you do not debayer images in DSS (not sure if it will allow you to turn that off). If you cannot turn it off, you should be able to batch-preprocess your CR2s manually using dcraw, with the right options set. The resulting output of that can then be stacked in DSS.

Do let us know how you get on. This is an interesting experiment. :)
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
Mike in Rancho

Post by Mike in Rancho »

Yes, there are a number of potential pitfalls here. As I think Ivo alluded to, your jpeg isn't really doing what I think you think it is doing. It will be demosaiced and interpolated into what it thinks is RGB, despite the missing matrix. The red cast, well, who knows how that came about, even if the UV-IR cut is now missing, and you found a way to "white balance" things into gray submission. The good news is that you haven't yet seen the crisp resolution increase that you should obtain from your mono mod! :D