ST processing quality is not that good for me

General discussion about StarTools.
maxthebuilder

ST processing quality is not that good for me

Post by maxthebuilder »

Hello,
I've been using ST occasionally for three years now.
Usually I process either with Photoshop or PixInsight but often re-process with ST just to see what comes out.
What I found is that ST is great for good broad band data sets.

For example I got very good results with targets like Andromeda, Triangulum and Orion. A+ here.

However, for targets not as bright, like dark nebulae (Dark Shark, etc.), ST doesn't play as nice.

And with dual narrow-band filters I never was able to get a good result with ST.

Maybe I'm doing something not right but anyway, just sharing my experience.

Thanks for a nice piece of software!
admin
Site Admin

Re: ST processing quality is not that good for me

Post by admin »

Hi,

StarTools should be able to produce substantially better (in terms of signal fidelity - matters of aesthetics are hard to argue obviously) results than either packages you mention. You should be seeing better (real/verifiable) detail amongst other things - no matter narrowband, visual spectrum, or partial spectrum data. If this is not the case, then that would be considered a bug of significant priority...

If you could provide a dataset and your StarTools workflow (also helpful would be the images from PS/PI), then we can better diagnose the problem you might be experiencing.

Thank you!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
hixx

Re: ST processing quality is not that good for me

Post by hixx »

Hi Max,
How are You aquiring & process the Duoband datasets? I found these work nicely as Luminance files for (especially in light-polluted areas or for faint nebulosity within busy starfields.)

But I need to fulfill several requirements for good results:
1) The Duoband Stack (Luminance) has its own Calibration files (Darks, Flats)