What colour space does Star Tools output?

General discussion about StarTools.
Post Reply
longinthetooth
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2022 10:35 am

What colour space does Star Tools output?

Post by longinthetooth »

New here and apologising if this question has already been answered in the forum or in the documentation. I've noticed that my Star Tools tifs, when opened in Photoshop, don't have the same appearance. PS and my monitor are both set to sRGB colour space. Does Star Tools output a different one?
JB
Actually thinking about it more maybe the question should be does Star Tools render images in sRGB or does it use a different colour space - hence looking different in other applications?
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: What colour space does Star Tools output?

Post by admin »

Apologies, I nearly missed your post! :oops:

StarTools uses whatever color space you have set your display to. E.g. what you see is what you get on your particular screen. This is why color calibraiton of your screen is highly recommended.

StarTools' TIFF output (preferred) does not embed a color space, while JPEG implicitly assumes sRGB according to the standard,

If you need to explicitly supply a color space with your image, you can use, for example, GIMP to embed one.

I hope that helps!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
longinthetooth
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2022 10:35 am

Re: What colour space does Star Tools output?

Post by longinthetooth »

Thanks for the info Ivo.
I like the programme - already getting better results.
JB
Post Reply