Astro Pixel Processor work flow for use in StarTools?

Guides, tutorials, tips & tricks.
PaulInNorthMichigan

Astro Pixel Processor work flow for use in StarTools?

Post by PaulInNorthMichigan »

I am new to StarTools so I don't have a really good processing order determined yet.

I use the Astro Pixel Processor stacking software. I don't see a whole lot written on the do's and don'ts associated with preparing an APP image for use in StarTools.

Presently I have been using all of the defaults between Step 1 and 6. I have been using the un stretched integrated image after step 6 is completed.

Ivo assisted me in deciding to go with StarTools due to the good results he helped me obtain in processing Andromeda with StarTools. In his recommendations he suggested that Normalization (which is step 5 in APP) should be avoided. I tried avoiding Normalization but as my image was being processed I could see that the Normalization was being applied at step 6 Integration. In searching the APP forums I saw a thread in which Mabula from APP said Normalization could be avoided through unchecking a setting but that this would not be recommended.

That is just one of the questions which I have not found a resolution to yet.

Another question which I have not resolved yet is whether I should or shouldn't apply Gradient reduction from step 9 in APP. The Gradient Reduction tool in APP is top notch. This is a manual setting which you exit when you have the desired effect. I have not been applying Gradient Reduction since after my Andromeda project. Since that time I have one project in particular in which I used a UHC filter that I could not remove the red cast to the stars. Here I am wondering perhaps whether I might find better results with working out APP's manual Gradient Reduction rather than using StarTools almost automated Gradient Reduction.