no color

Guides, tutorials, tips & tricks.
BILL_R

no color

Post by BILL_R »

Help. I have been using older versions of Startools for many years. I just installed the latest version and am baffled. I use a one shot color camera and preprocess my images in Nebulosity4. After preprocessing, I de-bayer and stack my images. When I open the stacked image in Startools, it converts the image to monochrome and nothing I try will restore the color. What is the secret ? As far as I know, my images are de-bayered but not white balanced. Any help would be appreciated.
admin
Site Admin

Re: no color

Post by admin »

Hi,

Processing with Compose mode engaged (new in 1.5+) will see you process luminance (mono) separately to the color data. The two are combined once you hit the Color module, but until then you will be processing mostly the luminance dataset.

The are some huge advantages to this for the purpose of signal fidelity and color renditions (see here).

Opening your dataset with the second option functions as a shortcut to creating a synthetic luminance dataset from R, 2xG (e.g. re-weighted!) and B, while retaining just R, G and B for coloring.

Hope this clears things up.

If you're upgrading from something older than 1.5 you're in for a treat! :)
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
BILL_R

Post by BILL_R »

Hi,
I'm still confused.
If I have de-bayered before stacking, are there still color channels in the file I load in Startools? Should I be stacking without de-bayerting?
What is the compose mode? I see the "compose" button but it takes me to a screen to enter data about LRGB files. Since I'm using a one shot color camera I don't have any of this.
What is the second option after opening the file? Does this refer to the button next to the "linear" button that says its for digital/dslr cameras? Is this where Startools creates synthetic luminance data from the red data?