mac version wont start

Questions and answers about problems with the software, modules or functionality.
Post Reply
crestofawave
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:25 am

mac version wont start

Post by crestofawave »

having a bit of a problem opening the mac version (bought).
i can open it but not with the startools run icon, i have to go into resources and run from the terminal
any ideas, 1.4 and the stable
crestofawave
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:25 am

Re: mac version wont start

Post by crestofawave »

no ideas ?
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2331
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: mac version wont start

Post by admin »

Hi,

Please refer to the following (from the download section);

macOS notes

Some macOS (e.g. Sierra and above) users may need to run "xattr -dr com.apple.quarantine StarTools.app" to un-quarantine StarTools.

Alternatively StarTools can be launched via control + click on the application, Show Package Contents, navigating to Contents/MacOS and clicking on the application.
Unfortunately Apple is making it harder and harder to distribute (let alone compile) cross-platform applications for macOS...

If this doesn't solve the problem, could you let me know the version of macOS you are running, as well as the version of StarTools you are running? Thank you!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
crestofawave
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:25 am

Re: mac version wont start

Post by crestofawave »

yep tried that just always return no such app, i assume its a quarantine issue but I’m not completely sure, running sierra 10.12.3 and the latest startools 1.4.327
clicking the shortcut does nothing at all, tried other versions and same prob, never get the popup about not being able to run, so seems weird,
i know i can run from the terminal but its a pain
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2331
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: mac version wont start

Post by admin »

crestofawave wrote:yep tried that just always return no such app, i assume its a quarantine issue but I’m not completely sure, running sierra 10.12.3 and the latest startools 1.4.327
clicking the shortcut does nothing at all, tried other versions and same prob, never get the popup about not being able to run, so seems weird,
i know i can run from the terminal but its a pain
Thanks for the info! It sounds like the unquarantine command fails to locate the app.
This is totally my bad - it's not clear from the note that the command needs to be run from the folder that StarTools.app is located in, e.g. use the 'cd' command to navigate to the to folder (you can use the TAB key to auto-complete).
I will update that now.

Does this work for you now?
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
crestofawave
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:25 am

Re: mac version wont start

Post by crestofawave »

brilliant, that got it ivo thank you, only thing I noticed is its not updated on the web on the mac and safari but fine on windows
cheers for the help......again :)
gorann
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:00 pm

Re: mac version wont start

Post by gorann »

I just bought the program and I have the same problem - and I have never done the procedures you describe on my Mac (I usually just click on programs and files) so I do not know how I should proceed when you say I should run "xattr -dr com.apple.quarantine StarTools.app" or how I could put that into my StarTools folder (it is just a line of letters and signs so how do I make that into an app). Maybe you could write a more basic description on how to proceed. I am running OSX Yosemite 10.10.5
Cheers, Göran
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2331
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: mac version wont start

Post by admin »

gorann wrote:I just bought the program and I have the same problem - and I have never done the procedures you describe on my Mac (I usually just click on programs and files) so I do not know how I should proceed when you say I should run "xattr -dr com.apple.quarantine StarTools.app" or how I could put that into my StarTools folder (it is just a line of letters and signs so how do I make that into an app). Maybe you could write a more basic description on how to proceed. I am running OSX Yosemite 10.10.5
Cheers, Göran
Hi Göran,

Can you open the application at all?
How are you currently trying to open the application?
If it fails, what happens?
Which version of the application are you trying to launch?

I wasn't aware the quarantining problem was present in Yosemite - the unquarantining instructions are for macOS Sierra and above.
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
Post Reply