ST keeps crashing

Questions and answers about problems with the software, modules or functionality.
sjako65

ST keeps crashing

Post by sjako65 »

I have been using ST since 2 years, almost never a software glitch, until the last weeks.

Almost every time I do a wipe and press keep, the system stops responding. In task manager it says 0% cpu, memory 5%.

I would say in 80% of cases.

Sometimes it does the keep after the stretch but then stops in contrast module. Same problem and same info from task manager.

Right now it is unusable for me unfortunately.

My system has not changed, I use several smaller and bigger files from different CMOS data. from 4 to 40 Mb. there is no difference. Even old files from DSS and Siril that worked fine before, now crash. Format is integer, no changes whatsoever.

System is a power machine: AMD 16/32 CPU, 128 GB RAM, 4 TB SDD. Nvidia 2080ti.

Weird problem, I updated the graphics drivers, uninstalled and re installed different versions of ST. Even the RC from last year, the stable version and the bleeding edge. All show these error in more or less the same situations.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Dick Bakker

I started using PI...I know...and in there no crashes even with huge datasets. So it is not a memory error either. I prefer ST but right now I have no choice. :?
Mike in Rancho

Re: ST keeps crashing

Post by Mike in Rancho »

Hi Dick,

Any other details of your rig you can add? GPU version obviously, but - Windows? No changes at all?

If PI can do big number crunching, but ST is crashing, I might lean towards GPU since PI isn't very (or at all?) accelerated in that way.

If you are in Windows and had ever changed the TDR, you might double check that.