DSS FITS file problem

Questions and answers about problems with the software, modules or functionality.
Post Reply
cybereye
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:32 pm

DSS FITS file problem

Post by cybereye »

Ivo,

I output a FITS file from DSS to try and input a 32bit file into StarTools but the resulting images after Develop are almost bitonal between blue and magenta. I know I can output a 32bit TIF file which I convert to 16bit in PS - I find this gives a better result than outputting a 16 bit TIF from DSS - but wanted to see if there was any difference processing a 32 bit image.

Does this make sense?!

Cheers,
Mario
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2305
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: DSS FITS file problem

Post by admin »

cybereye wrote:Ivo,

I output a FITS file from DSS to try and input a 32bit file into StarTools but the resulting images after Develop are almost bitonal between blue and magenta. I know I can output a 32bit TIF file which I convert to 16bit in PS - I find this gives a better result than outputting a 16 bit TIF from DSS - but wanted to see if there was any difference processing a 32 bit image.

Does this make sense?!

Cheers,
Mario
Hi Mario,

Any chance you could share the problematic image with me?
Was the output 32-bit integer or floating point? Do you observe the same thing when outputting in FITS format?

Cheers,
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
cybereye
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: DSS FITS file problem

Post by cybereye »

Ivo,

I don't know if it's FP or INT - it's whatever the default FITS file output from DSS is. When I get home I'll put the file in a Dropbox file for you to look at. I'll PM you with the link.

Cheers,
Mario
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2305
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:51 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: DSS FITS file problem

Post by admin »

Hi Mario,

Thanks for the file!
Nothing to worry about it seems. AutoDev is a bit of a funny critter in that it really does its best to show everything in your image - warts and all.
After doing an Autodev, if you see this sort of thing (a clear color bias/background), just 'Keep' the result (the tracking feature will allow you to redo your global stretching even after you have made all sorts of modifications). Next, launch Wipe to get rid of the bias. Wipe will tel you to re-do your global stretch when you're done in Wipe. If you do exactly that, you'll end up with a much corrected image;
Autosave_ST13.jpg
Autosave_ST13.jpg (392.24 KiB) Viewed 3996 times
Steps used;

--- Auto Develop
Parameter [Gamma] set to [1.00]
Parameter [Outside ROI Influence] set to [5 %]
Parameter [Ignore Detail <] set to [Off]
--- Crop
Parameter [X1] set to [23 pixels]
Parameter [Y1] set to [16 pixels]
Parameter [X2] set to [2796 pixels (-244)]
Parameter [Y2] set to [2003 pixels (-13)]
--- Auto Develop
Parameter [Gamma] set to [1.00]
Parameter [Outside ROI Influence] set to [5 %]
Parameter [Ignore Detail <] set to [Off]
--- Wipe
Parameter [Mode] set to [Correct Color & Brightness]
Parameter [Top End Treatment] set to [Brightness Mask]
Parameter [Cap Green] set to [No]
Parameter [Output Gradient Only] set to [No]
Parameter [Precision] set to [256 x 256 pixels]
Parameter [Dark Anomaly Filter] set to [4 pixels]
Parameter [Drop Off Point] set to [100 %]
Parameter [Corner Aggressiveness] set to [100 %]
Parameter [Aggressiveness] set to [75 %]
Parameter [Dark Anomaly Headroom] set to [10 %]
--- Auto Develop
Parameter [Gamma] set to [1.00]
Parameter [Outside ROI Influence] set to [5 %]
Parameter [Ignore Detail <] set to [1.9 pixels]

I'm currently working on a revised color module for ST 1.4 that will make attaining a good color balance a much easier as well...
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
cybereye
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:32 pm

Re: DSS FITS file problem

Post by cybereye »

Thanks Ivo, it gives me something to test when I can finally get some new data!

Cheers,
Mario
Post Reply