Trouble loading TIF file from DSS

Questions and answers about problems with the software, modules or functionality.
ajreynolds

Trouble loading TIF file from DSS

Post by ajreynolds »

I'm just starting out in astrophotography and StarTools was recommended, so I'm trying to run the trial version. I've taken some images, stacked them in DSS, and generated a TIF file, but when I try to open the file in StarTools, it says it can't read the file. I can load the same TIF file back into DSS and it displays fine. Fitswork and Photoshop Elements can also display it. I'm using the beta version 3.3.3 build 51 of DSS since the release version doesn't support my camera's raw format (Canon T3i). Can you give me any suggestions on how to load my files?

Thanks.
Andy
admin
Site Admin

Re: Trouble loading TIF file from DSS

Post by admin »

ajreynolds wrote:I'm just starting out in astrophotography and StarTools was recommended, so I'm trying to run the trial version. I've taken some images, stacked them in DSS, and generated a TIF file, but when I try to open the file in StarTools, it says it can't read the file. I can load the same TIF file back into DSS and it displays fine. Fitswork and Photoshop Elements can also display it. I'm using the beta version 3.3.3 build 51 of DSS since the release version doesn't support my camera's raw format (Canon T3i). Can you give me any suggestions on how to load my files?

Thanks.
Andy
Hi Andy,

The trouble typically stems from a proprietary non-standard LibTIFF compression format that DSS uses (very annoying). You should be able to save the files uncompressed, or better yet, save them as FITS files. These should load fine in StarTools.

Do let me know if you have any further trouble.

Clear skies!
Ivo Jager
StarTools creator and astronomy enthusiast
ajreynolds

Post by ajreynolds »